Versions

Let's face it – when you're entering in your content, you'll probably make mistakes. You can easily revert back to earlier versions of your page.

 

When you click on the 'versions' button, it will list all of your page versions since the website's creation. The easiest way to check which version of the page you'd like to roll back to, is simply to click on the page name's link. This will bring up a preview of your page. Once you find the page version you'd like to roll back to, simply tick the box next to the page version, and click approve.

The 'approved' version of your page will appear in bold, and is live to the public - that is, if your site's live to begin with. Here's the thing that isn't completely obvious to everyone... when you're editing your pages, you're editing the LATEST version. In other words, if you've approved an earlier version to go live (which you'll know, as it's in bold), you'll still be editing the version listed at the top. This means that when you're live, you can take your time, creating your content for the page, and only when you're ready to go live with the changes, do you publish, or approve the latest version.

If you've made a mistake, and want to completely revert back to an old version, and go back to editing that version, you can. All you need to do is delete the versions at the top, until your approved version is at the top. When you next go to edit your page, your old version will be editable.

When you save your page by exiting edit mode, you're prompted to enter a comment. This is where the 'comments' column comes in. When you make a major update on your pages, it's a good idea to quickly comment on the changes to make it easier if you ever need to revert back.

If you're having trouble telling the difference between certain versions, there's also a compare tool that you can use to quickly compare versions. Simply tick two boxes, and click compare. This gives you a good indication of what's changed between the two versions. The content in green is content that has been added, and the content in red is the content that's been deleted. It's not perfect, but gives you a quick indication if you've got a lot of versions to overview. We recommend simply clicking on each version to view the page in full.