Members Area

So, you need a password protected members area of your site. Whether you'd like the content for each member to be the same, or unique, we've got an app for you.

If you'd like your content to be unique for each user, you'll need to purchase our 'Unique Content Members App'. If you just need a single members area, where the content for all users is the same, you just need the 'General Content Members App'. You'll find these on the apps marketplace within Shift.

This tutorial is in four parts. Firstly, it'll cover how to create users for your members areas. Secondly, it will cover members login boxes so your members can log in. Thirdly, it will cover how to make pages you choose only available to members. Lastly, it will cover how to create unique content for unique members.

Creating Users

Creating users for your members areas is easy. The easiest way is to simply go to your dashboard, and click on the 'add user' tab. For each user, just make up a username, a password, and type in the user's email address. When you're done, click 'create user'. Your user has been created. Please be aware, this will not automatically email your new user, and let them know of their details. That's up to you. Most people send new users an email with their details manually, 'welcoming' them to their members section of their website.

Once your users are created, you can search through your users if you need to by using the search box. If you need to edit any user detail, or suspend a user's account, just click on their username, and click 'edit' or 'suspend' respectively. If you'd like to permanently delete a user, click on their name, and choose 'delete user account'.

Login Boxes

If you'd like to, you can insert a 'login box' into your website.  Your users can use this login box to login to your members area.  You can put a login box anywhere you'd like.  Simply click 'add to' below the area you'd like it, and select 'login box'.

This brings up a prompt.  If you  have the tickbox 'when login is complete, return users to this page' ticked, the user will remain on the page they're on.  If you have it unticked, the user will automatically be redirected to the members page.

Login boxes are handy, but they're not essential, because if a non-logged in user tries to go to a members page, it will prompt them for their username and password.

Members Only Pages

In order to make a page a 'members only page', simply navigate to the desired page in shift, and click the 'page permissions' button. It's here, where you'll make this page into a page available only to your members.

On the 'page permissions' page, you'll notice two tick boxes - one says 'guest' and one says 'members'. It's pretty simple, really. If you want the page you're on to only be available to members, untick guests, and vice versa.

If only the 'members' box is ticked, your page will be available to all your members that you've created. When your users log in, they'll be able to see this page. Non-logged in visitors will not. If they try, a login box will appear. If you have the 'General Content Members App', and you don't need unique content for unique users, this is all you need to do. You can stop this tutorial now.

However, if you have the 'Unique Content Members App, please continue. If you need this app but only have the General Content App, please contact support to upgrade.

Unique Content for Unique Members

If you'd like unique content for unique members, you can create a unique members area within any page.

Most people create unique AREAS for individual members. This means they can have one page for all their members, and simply display the relevant content for each member. 

To create a unique area for a member, it's easy. Just go to edit any page. This doesn't have to be a page that you've made into a members area - this could be any page at all. First, create the content that you want displayed only to that member. Next, click on that content area. You'll notice a button called 'set permissions'. This shows who can see this block.

If you'd like to make this area only available to one or more individual users, click 'add user' and follow the prompts. If you've already created your members, either click on them one by one, or tick the tickboxes next to the relevant members, and select 'choose' from the dropdown box. If you need to create a user, just click 'create user', and follow the same steps explained at the beginning of this tutorial.

Once your users are selected, they are displayed on the permissions page. All you would do, is tick, and untick the relevant users and groups. For example, if you wanted this area only available to 'Bob' and 'Tom', and not visitors or your other members, you'd untick 'guest' and 'members' and ensure only 'bob' and 'tom' are ticked. Once you click save, and publish your changes, only Bob and Tom will be able to see this area. For visitors or other users, the block simply won't be there. You can have as many different blocks for as many different users as you want. Easy as that.

Some people like to combine members only pages with unique members areas.  For example, you could setup a members page showing information relevant to all members.  Within that page, you could setup blocks that will only show for unique members.